Mystcraft - A Comprehensive Guide

Mystcraft is a popular mod based on the Myst series. Made popular in Minecraft 1.7.10, Mystcraft allows you to write books to travel to “Ages” or Dimensions with a variety of different parameters. Lava Lakes? Easy. Permanent night? No problem. Diamond Block spheres?

Possible, but not recommended

Mystcraft lets you take control, and as long as your Ages are stable, you can create any type of dimension and customize how it looks and what features it has. The only thing that can truly kill you in Mystcraft are Greed and Impatience which lead to unstable, potentially deadly Ages.

Mod Authors: XCompWiz, HellFirePvP

Current Minecraft Version: 1.12.2
Current Mystcraft Version:

Suggested Legacy Versions:
Minecraft: 1.7.10

Curse Link - Wiki Link - Github Issue Tracker

This guide covers content for the latest version of this mod for Minecraft 1.12.2. Things may be buggy as it is a work in progress and could end up breaking your world. You have been warned.


  • Overworld - This is the default Minecraft world.
  • Dimension - Any world, usually one aside from the Overworld. The Nether and The End also count as dimensions.
  • Age - A Dimension accessible via a Descriptive Book, which literally describes the world it links to in detail

This guide will not have any crafting recipes in it. Please use JEI, as some modpacks change crafting recipes.

You can use the Arrow Keys to navigate pages backwards and forwards. The checkmarks next to the title indicate which pages you have visited. You can clear this by pressing "Clear History" at the bottom of the menu.